Ben Folds Five

I’m old and getting older. (I hope you didn’t have another, more errantly romanticized¬†impression of my age.) This weekend I’ll be putting another year on the shelf, and each time that happens I get a little more nostalgic; well, maybe just a little more maudlin. I don’t live in the past, but, well… I’m from there.

But the more I know, the more I think about things I used to know. That’s just how things are, and I like it like that, even if I do get a creepy haunted feeling now and then. And it’s probably why my degree is in history. Hmm. I could go on, but suffice to say that in my mind there are stacks and stacks of photographs and souvenirs, and it can be tricky navigating around them sometimes.

Anyway, just wanted to post a song by Ben Folds Five that evokes those feelings almost palpably. It’s incredibly touching, and really only second to “Don’t Change Your Plans” as BFF’s best-written song.

Ben Folds Five “Eddie Walker”

Update: You know, come to think of it, Ben Folds Five released their first album about two weeks before I started high school, and then released their last just a little short of my graduation. I’m entirely convinced they did this all for my benefit. To whatever extent that’s true, here’s a live quasi-reunion performance of 1999’s The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner.

2008-09-18 – TUBRM Front To Back – Chapel Hill, NC (USA) – 96kbps

